John Williams to Appear at Wizarding World Hollywood Grand Opening at Universal Studios

A new magical world is lying in wait. The Wizarding World of Harry Potter opens on 7 April at Universal Studios Hollywood.

And to celebrate, Harry Potter actors Warwick Davis, Tom Felton, Evanna Lynch, James Phelps and Oliver Phelps will be on the red carpet at the Grand Opening on 5 April.

They’ll also be joined by a very special guest: Oscar-winning composer John Williams, who scored the first three Harry Potter films, including the iconic Hedwig’s Theme.

Full article at Pottermore

Williams Attends Performance of His ‘Violin Concerto’ in Boston


Boston Pops laureate conductor John Williams was at Symphony Hall on Friday to hear his Violin Concerto performed by Gil Shaham. The performance, conducted by Stéphane Denève, was part of the BSO’s Casual Friday Series, which allowed for casual attire, included post-concert receptions, and featured low ticket prices. There were three Casual Friday shows from January to March. Williams, who sported a tie to the event, took a stage bow after the audience heard his piece. Source: Boston Globe

John Williams Honored at LA Children’s Chorus Gala Bel Canto

Generated by IJG JPEG Library

John Williams was among the four personalities honored by the Los Angeles Children’s Chorus (LACC) on March 16 at Gala Bel Canto, its annual fundraiser, which took place at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

The celebration, hosted by actress Jane Kaczmarek, included heartfelt accolades and moving musical tributes by 300 singers from five LACC ensembles, led by Artistic Director Anne Tomlinson.

“We are proud to recognize these distinguished honorees for their immeasurable contributions to the Los Angeles Children’s Chorus. John Williams, whose exceptional music has touched people around the world, has collaborated with LACC on numerous projects, providing unparalleled artistic opportunities for our choristers.” said Gala Bel Canto Chair Cheryl R. Scheidemantle.

‘The Force Awakens’ Home Video Release to Include 7-Minute Music Documentary

The home video release of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, available digitally on April 1, and on Blu-ray/DVD on April 5, will include a short documentary feature on the music for the film, in which John Williams “shares personal insights of his work” on the score. Other bonus features include an in-depth documentary, visual effects featurettes, exclusive interviews with the actors, and deleted scenes.

BONUS FEATURES (Full details, inc. length)

  • Secrets of The Force Awakens: A Cinematic Journey (69:14) – For the first time, discover the complete story behind the making of The Force Awakens, revealed through in-depth footage and exclusive interviews with the actors and filmmakers in this feature documentary.
  • The Story Awakens: The Table Read (4:01) – Cast members familiar and new reflect on the memorable day they all first came together to read the movie’s script.
  • Building BB-8 (6:03) – See how the filmmakers brought the newest droid to the screen, creating an instant fan favorite in the Star Wars universe.
  • Crafting Creatures (9:34) – Watch movie magic as the filmmakers bring a cast of new creatures to life.
    Blueprint of a Battle: The Snow Fight (7:02) – Go deeper into the epic, climactic lightsaber battle between Rey and Kylo Ren.
  • John Williams: The Seventh Symphony (6:51) – The legendary composer shares personal insights of his work on Star Wars and The Force Awakens.
  • ILM: The Visual Magic of The Force (7:54) – An insider’s look into the remarkable digital artistry of the movie’s visual effects.
  • Force For Change (3:22) – Heroes come in all shapes and sizes. See how the Star Wars: Force for Change initiative has united Star Wars fans all over the globe to help others.
  • Deleted Scenes
    1. Finn And The Villager (0:31)
    2. Jakku Message (0:47)
    3. X-Wings Prepare For Lightspeed (0:22)
    4. Kylo Searches The Falcon (0:50)
    5. Snow Speeder Chase (0:48)
    6. Finn Will Be Fine (0:23

More details at

John Williams at the 88th Academy Awards

Composer Ennio Morricone mentioned John Williams in his acceptance speech as he received his first ever Oscar on Feb. 28 at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles. After thanking the Academy for the “prestigious acknowledgement”, the composer of Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight said: “My tribute goes to the other nominees, and in particular to the esteemed John Williams.”


Earlier in the ceremony, droids C-3PO, R2-D2 and BB-8 celebrated Mr. Williams’ 50th nomination from the stage.

Watch the full videos below.


John Williams Talks Oscar Nominations at Pre-Academy Awards Event

John Williams spoke briefly about his 50th nomination for the Academy Awards at the Society of Composers & Lyricists’ annual reception honoring the Oscar nominees for Best Score and Song, which was held Saturday 27 at Cafe La Boheme in West Hollywood.

Each nominee was called to a podium by SCL president Ashley Irwin, presented with a conductor’s baton, and invited to say a few words. Williams, 84, drew laughs when he noted that he “especially wanted to congratulate a gentleman who has been such an inspiration to all of us younger composers,” calling out the 87-year old Morricone. The two maestros enjoyed a convivial conversation, with the aid of Morricone’s interpreter, on the restaurant’s patio before the presentations began.

Williams’ The Force Awakens is his 50th Oscar nomination overall, a statistic that even he finds incredulous. “It’s a thrill that never wanes,” he told Billboard. “I feel so happy that my colleagues think enough of me to continue to put up with me.”

Full article at Billboard.comReport & photo at Film Music Reporter

John Williams’ speech (low audio/video quality):

Williams Begins Recording ‘The BFG’

According to JoAnn Kane Music Service via their Twitter account, recording sessions for John Williams’ score to The BFG started last week with the attendance of director Steven Spielberg – you can read some Williams and Spielberg quotes from the sessions in the tweets below. The “Big Friendly Giant”, a fantasy adventure written by Melissa Mathison based on Roald Dahl’s novel, is scheduled to be released in 3-D on July 1, 2016.

Williams’ Boston Concerts Announced

John Williams will share the podium with Keith Lockhart for this year’s ‘Film Night’ concerts at the Boston Symphony Hall. The two conductors will lead the Boston Pops on Thursday, May 12 and Friday, May 13 in a program that will include selections from Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Jaws, Indiana Jones and Harry Potter. Tickets for these performances go on sale on Monday, February 22, 10 AM EST.


Williams’ ‘The Force Awakens’ Wins 3 IFMCA Awards


The International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA) announces its list of winners for excellence in musical scoring in 2015, in the 2015 IFMCA Awards.

The award for Score of the Year goes to composer John Williams for his work on the massively popular and successful epic science fiction fantasy Star Wars: The Force Awakens from director J. J. Abrams. Star Wars: The Force Awakens is also named Best Score for a Fantasy/Science Fiction/Horror Film, and wins the Film Music Composition of the Year award for the film’s conclusive end credits suite, “The Jedi Steps and Finale”. These are the thirteenth, fourteenth, and fifteenth IFMCA Awards of Williams’s career, and it marks the third time he has been awarded Score of the Year, after Memoirs of a Geisha in 2005, and War Horse in 2011.

Full article and complete list of winners at the IFMCA website