HOOK: "Prologue"

Jay

Alright folks. It's been mentioned many times before that the track "Prologue" on the HOOK OST (which in reality is the music written for the film's first Teaser Trailer) is playing at the wrong speed. But is it took fast or too slow?

Originally I think people assumed it was too fast, and that slowing it down by about 3.3% would bring it back to the correct speed - this is also the speed it plays on the original, pre-Concorde boot that came out.

However, if you view the teaser trailer on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-KBT7-bG8eg

You will hear that the trailer version plays VERY fast. You'd need to speed up the OST version by about 8.8% to reach this speed.

So what do you think, is the youtube version playing at the proper speed, or is the youtube version artificially sped up?

Discuss!

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no sound engineer but the youtube video sounds off. Of course I've been listening to the original all these years. What source is this trailer from?

This is the first I've heard of a possible speed issue.

Oh, it's been discussed many times over the years that the track on the OST is playing at the wrong speed. Here's one thread about it:

http://www.jwfan.com...showtopic=10532

I agree that the youtube version SOUNDS fast - like it doesnt FEEL right, it just feels rushed.... however, it is perfectly in tune, and several re-recordings / suites have been made that are also at this fast speed. See "Flight To Neverland" on the "Williams On Williams" compilation for one

Mm, the YouTube video could suffer from the typical PAL 4% speed-up (it was transferred and duplicated from a PAL videotape source and then retriggered through some recompression program, hence the "off" quality, I suppose).

It's the first time for me too I read the Hook OST contains tracks transferred at the wrong speed. Strange, no tracks ever sounded too fast, or too slow.