JWfangirl1992

The "What I Do For a Living" Thread

So right now I am a Freshman in college deciding on the whole major/minor thing and right now I am most likely looking at a double major in Business Management/Marketing with a minor in the Classics (specifically Latin).

So this got me thinking, what do you guys do for a living and do you find yourself to be a successful person? I've been told so many times that I'm most likely not going to get a job involving my major if I go very specific. So I like business and figure that these majors are safe to help me get a solid job after college. What do you guys think?

I'm on my third year of studying cinema direction. Of course, studying something like this makes you scared of the future, but it's my thing, I know it. I love making films and I love watching them.

Also I've been commisioned to write the libretto of a comic opera. I know it sounds weird, but I have a friend who's a composer and he suggested me for the gig and here I am, writing and writing all day. It's fantastic.

I'm a supervisor in a hostel that houses high/very high risk offenders, and help reintegrate them into the community at the end of long sentences....and drag their stupid asses bag to prison if they don't behave thelselves....

Currently I work for an IT services company/consulter, who hire people based on their skill set, rather than doing a specific job. My current role is on the 'platform team', which basically means I maintain/monitor/install/anything needed, Windows-based, on my project's internal development environment.

My BSc was in Business Management, and I'd be lying if I said I found it very useful, or even very enjoyable. If you're genuinely looking for a solid grounding in business, or want to 'be somebody' as they say, then go for it. My problem was being uncertain about career choice and choosing the 'safe' option.

So I then did a MSc in Computer Science and those two degrees were what collectively got me employed.