Arpy

Hello All

Hey, I'm Rhys!

I've been a long time lurker/stalker and have to say I enjoy the discussions here and the banter!

I'm a university student living in Australia studying Fine Arts and seek to follow a career in Conceptual Art and Design for Games, Television and Film. On the side of this endeavor I'm a very rough beginner to composition hoping to take a supplemental course next year in the subject.

My earliest John Williams encounter (with his music) was in 1997 when I was only 5 and my dad had put on the VHS of the 1977 original. My first interest in film music was back in 1999 - 2001 period which saw the release of The Phantom Menace, The Lord of the Rings the Fellowship of the Ring and Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, All scores which immediately had me hooked on film music. However I have to mention here that around this time my love of scores began with a Videogame: The Legend of Zelda The Ocarina of Time which to this day I am fond of. Looking back, I think my interest in film scores is largely centered in their ability to thematically connect me to characters and places I loved in the films I watched and the games I played and Ocarina of Time more than other games is thematically structured.

Howard Shore is my second favourite composer which is funny considering my favourite film scores are his for the Lord of the Rings (Not so much the Hobbit - but time will tell and maybe I will discuss it later).

I'm a massive supporter of Michael Giacchino whom I adore for trying to keep the older type of Hollywood scoring alive. James Newton Howard is simply marvelous and someone who I believe has similar traits to Williams in places, in the complexity of his writing and so on. John Powell is another favourite ever since X-Men: The Last Stand and How to Train Your Dragon, his scores are magical, majestic and bombastic at times.