Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Michael Giacchino's VOYAGE

Recommended Posts


Next month marks the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 space mission, during which Ohio native Neil Armstrong became the first human to walk on the moon. There will be lots of events, TV specials and probably mattress sales in the coming weeks celebrating the milestone achievement.

The Cincinnati Pops Orchestra, led by conductor John Morris Russell, is getting in on the action with the new album Voyage, which will be released on July 5 and marks the first "studio recording" made at Music Hall since its massive renovation project was completed.

Voyage, as you might have guessed, contains performances of several space-themed compositions, including music from TV shows (Dr. Who, Lost in Space) and movies like Battlestar Galactica and Galaxy Quest. 

On the album, the CSO also performs selections from award-winning composer Michael Giacchino's scores for Star Trek (the 2009 film) and Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. Giacchino also composed the album's title track, which gets its world premiere with the release. Giacchino has EGGO status — he's a Tony shy of EGOT bragging rights and also has a Golden Globe. 

In a press release, Giacchino (who won a Grammy, Oscar and Golden Globe for his score to the classic Pixar film Up) writes, "I first became enthralled with the space program when my dad showed me photographs that he had taken of the television broadcast of the first Moon landing. I was too young to have any recollection of it, but seeing those photos taken in our family room inspired me to learn more.

"Voyage not only marks the 50th anniversary of the Moon landing, but it also honors the men and women who dared to dream for us all."





1 The Planets, Op. 32, H. 125 (Excerpts): IV. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity 7:56

2 Star Trek 5:35
3 The Jedi Steps - Finale (From "Star Wars: The Force Awakens") 9:13
4 Jyn Erso & Hope Suite (From "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story") 5:59
5 The Imperial Suite (From "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story") 2:36
6 Guardians of the Whills Suite (From "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story") 2:44
7 Theme (From "Galaxy Quest") 1:10
8 Theme (From "Lost in Space") [1965 Version] [Arr. R. Pellett] 0:55
9 Theme (From "Battlestar Gallactica") [Arr. R. Pellett] 0:54
10 Theme (From "Dr. Who") [Arr. R. Pellett] 0:44
11 Theme (From "Buck Rogers in the 25th Century") [Arr. R. Pellett] 0:31
12 Theme (From "Space 1999") [Arr. R. Pellett] 0:48
13 Theme (From "Lost in Space") [1967 Version] [Arr. R. Pellett] 1:14
14 Voyage 10:04
15 Theme for Harp, Strings & Theremin (From "First Man") 2:09
16 The Planets, Op. 32, H. 125 (Excerpts): I. Mars, the Bringer of War 7:18
17 The Planets, Op. 32, H. 125 (Excerpts): II. Venus, the Bringer of Peace [With Narration "High Flight"] 4:35



Physical CD: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07SCHF9QN








Some more info:






Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Voyage premiered last year, and eventually came to CD this year.


Advent just premiered at the Kennedy Center in July



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/12/2019 at 7:59 PM, Jay said:

The Jedi Steps - Finale (From "Star Wars: The Force Awakens")

Just confirmed this is the concert suite version with the extended middle section and brassy ending where Luke's theme still stands out properly.

Isn't this the very first official recording of that?!? :woop:


Still... No other recording than the OST seems to be able to get that final brass burst in Rey's Theme right.

That's the one main difference between the end title and the suite version. It's such a simple thing, but never fails to really get to me.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Mr. Manfrenjensenden said:

It was a bit jarring to hear a different rendition of Poe’s theme.

You mean compared to the OST version?

I didn't notice it being substantially different from the other suite versions.

But maybe I wasn't quite paying attention...

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...