Video games can never be art

The famous 2010 article by Roger Ebert

http://www.rogerebert.com/rogers-journal/video-games-can-never-be-art

I agree with this point.

Why are gamers so intensely concerned, anyway, that games be defined as art? Bobby Fischer, Michael Jordan and Dick Butkus never said they thought their games were an art form. Nor did Shi Hua Chen, winner of the $500,000 World Series of Mah Jong in 2009. Why aren't gamers content to play their games and simply enjoy themselves? They have my blessing, not that they care.

Do they require validation? In defending their gaming against parents, spouses, children, partners, co-workers or other critics, do they want to be able to look up from the screen and explain, "I'm studying a great form of art?" Then let them say it, if it makes them happy.

But it's actually a very valid point.

They are computer GAMES. So there's a challenge, in some games you are competing against others. This doesn't really happen in art.

Is a well designed game then not akin to a well designed Formula 1 car, rather then the Mona Lisa?

Am I the only one around here wise enough to not feel the need to embrace wildly sweeping generalizations about art?

"Music can never be art. Why are musicians intensely concerned with being considered artists? Do they need validation? Can't they be content to enjoy their music and leave *dramatic voice* true art to the more cultured among us?"

I like Ebert as a guy who talked about movies, but here he's being a pretentious old twat.

Ebert went so far off the deep end with this one that he admitted he erred later:

I should not have written that entry without being more familiar with the actual experience of video games.

http://www.rogerebert.com/rogers-journal/okay-kids-play-on-my-lawn