Sign in to follow this  
Justin

A Song of Ice and Fire

Anyone reading this series by George R.R. Martin? I've been working my way through book one for the last several months and find it fantastic. The book has an incredible sense of character depth, political intrigue, and solid storylines. The biggest problem is that it's so incredibly long I feel like it will be quite an acomplishment if I finish the series in my lifetime.

Anyone else know what I'm talking about?

Justin

I've been working through this for the past couple months and finished the third book the other day. It's a good read so far. The language isn't over-flowery, but it's well written.

ttbk, who thought this thread was going to be about a film adaptation...

The whole book series thusfar is excellent. I find it the best fantasy written in a long time. I read the series fast as I found it impossible to let the books out of my hands. This also means I did not find them too long ;)

Martin's characters are very well written with such great depth and that is perhaps the greatest single thing in the series. The plot is intriguing and very interesting and keeps you at the edge of your seat all the time. The idea of writing each chapter from different character's point of view is a brilliant idea and it gets more complex in the later novels where he adds a new twist to it. The world is believable and rooted more to medieval Europe than fantasy but there are these little hints at the more mystical and magical things behind the scenes and the deep history Martin's world has. What can I say. I was very impressed with the complexity of the great story Martin has created. I am waiting anxiously the latest installment in the series.