12-tone technique in John Williams?

filmmusic

Hello.

I haven't seen this brought up again, and i was wondering if John Williams has utilised any 12-tone techniques anywhere in his music (mostly film music).

I think other composers like Jerry Goldsmith and Leonard Rosenman have..

I myself am not aware of any such passage in Williams. When he is atonal I think he uses free atonality..

Isn't Story Of A Women supposed to be atonal?

I'm not talking for general atonality but specifically for serial music and 12-tone techniques.

When we use a series of the 12 notes as a departure point and construct music based on that series by manipulating it it many ways..

One thing I've found is about his essay of strings:

Williams has said of the Essay, "It's not a strict 12-tone work, but it has many gestures of that style."

i was wondering about his film music though..

;)

I'm no expert in atonality, but As far as I know the bulk of his output has been tonal. Story Of A Women is rumoured to be atonal, but hardly anyone has even heard that. Maybe there is some other obscure work.

There is about 10 minutes from Story Of A Woman (or offically: Storia Di Una Donna) on YouTube and it sounds pretty tonal to me...

I've heard Anakin's Theme is composed in the 12 tone idiom...

I have managed to locate, on YouTube, what is reported to be a suite of music from "Story Of A Woman", under the title "Storia di una Donna". It doesn't sound very atonal to me, and the quality is not very good, but it is worth a listen. It sounds a like proto-Jane Eyre, and also has elements of "Images". Unfortunately, I don't know how to post it on this site. Maybe if some kind person..?

I've heard Anakin's Theme is composed in the 12 tone idiom...

I've heard that too, but i just don't see it. Does anyone see it?

Edit: Oh, someone here suggests that it's in the transition from anakin's to vader's theme. not in the theme itself..

http://boards.theforce.net/star_wars_and_film_music/b10190/1909877/p1/