Jump to content

Intrada announces Henry Mancini's Hatari (Original Tracks)


Recommended Posts





Music Composed and Conducted by HENRY MANCINI

INTRADA Special Collection Vol. 200

Along with Breakfast At Tiffany’s, The Pink Panther and Charade, Hatari! is generally regarded as one of Henry Mancini’s all-time most popular film score recordings. In fact, Hatari! ushered in the legendary “Baby Elephant Walk,” a swaggering tune for clarinet with orchestra written for the movie that instantly became a wildly popular hit on its own. In addition to their lofty commercial success, another thing these albums had in common was in how they represented their respective scores. In each case, Mancini re-recorded roughly a half hour of music, adapting the major themes and easy listening-style music into albums accessible to wide audiences. The actual film soundtracks, including the more dramatic underscoring, were never made available. With this premiere release of the film soundtrack to Hatari!, Intrada presents to new audiences the complete score as Mancini actually recorded it for the film, including the original version of “Baby Elephant Walk,” heard both in its familiar setting for the parade of elephants scene and in dramatic variations for the final chase sequence.

Hatari! was recorded on stereo three-track 35mm magnetic film in 1962, the majority of which were transferred by Paramount onto 2’’ archival tape in the 1990s. To present the complete score, restoration engineer Chris Malone has added otherwise unavailable cues from several additional sources.

John Wayne stars as Sean Mercer in this African adventure, searching the African landscape for wild animals to fill zoo orders. Mercer's group includes "the Indian" (Bruce Cabot), a womanizing sharpshooter who is gored by a rhino. While the Indian is in the hospital, a named Swiss zoo photographer Anna Maria D'Allesandro (Elsa Martinelli) shows up -- and Mercer tries to send her packing from day one. More trouble with rhinos ensue, and D'Allesandro starts collecting baby elephants along the way, giving Mercer much more than he bargained for.

INTRADA Special Collection Vol. 200

Retail Price: $19.99

Available Now

For track listing and sound samples, please visit



Label: Intrada Special Collection Volume 200

Date: 1962

Tracks: 32

Time = 61:36

Special Collection Volume 200 is neat milestone! World premiere release of actual Henry Mancini soundtrack to terrific Howard Hawks adventure film set in Africa, starring John Wayne, Elsa Martinelli, Red Buttons. Wayne and company capture rare animals for various world zoos. Some species are easier to catch than others. Elephants inspire Mancini to create legendary tune "Baby Elephant Walk", available for first time ever in its original soundtrack guise. Famous swaggering tune for high register Eb clarinet also figures during climactic "Search For Dallas". Leopard, buffalo, monkey, giraffe, ostrich all get their say but incredibly dangerous rhino sequences are what bring out Mancini's equally legendary main theme, often heard on choir of French horns in unison. In 1962, Mancini re-recorded just 30 minutes of highlights for admittedly sensational RCA album. In companionship with that album, now enjoy Mancini's complete original recordings, presented mostly in stereo from Paramount Pictures scoring session elements. A few sections required use of mono stems to allow restoration of complete soundtrack. This new hour long release carries landmark significance: every Mancini album during this most famous period of his career (Breakfast At Tiffany's, Hatari, Charade, Experiment In Terror, The Pink Panther) was heavily truncated and completely re-arranged with emphasis on dance mood. Along with new release of Charade, this marks exciting debut of an actual Mancini soundtrack from the era! Danger, romance, thrills, comedy, all getting rich Mancini melody! Unforgettable original campaign artwork is icing on the cake. Henry Mancini conducts. Available while quantities and interest remain.

01. The Sounds Of Hatari 4:17

02. Main Title 2:35

03. Safari Bar Piano Blues 1:24

04. Giraffe Country 1:34

05. Just For Tonight (Instrumental) 2:10

06. Paraphrase I 1:40

07. Night Side 2:35

08. Dallas Has A Plan 1:31

09. Trip To Masai Wells 1:06

10. Indian Comes Home 0:58

11. Just For Tonight (Solo Piano) 2:24

12. Swift Animal Chase 0:49

13. Dead Elephant 0:37

14. Night Side (Record Player) 2:19

15. Leopard And Buffalo 1:51

16. The Crocodile 1:08

17. Your Father’s Feathers 1:50

18. Baby Elephant Walk (Short) 1:57

19. Crocodile, Go Home! 1:10

20. Big Band Bwana 1:46

21. Paraphrase II 1:26

22. Wildebeest Hunt 2:36

23. Brandy Sniffer 2:09

24. Ice Bucket Blues 1:42

25. Monkey Suits 2:04

26. Baby Elephant Walk (Long) 3:14

27. Elephant Scare 0:49

28. More Rhino 0:53

29. Burnt Fingers 2:59

30. Search For Dallas 4:23

31. Just For Tonight (Chorus) 2:10

32. Finale 0:19

Henry Mancini

Price: $19.99

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 1
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Guidelines.