ciarlese

How do you sort your JW albums?  

46 members have voted

1. 1. How do you sort your JW albums?

• Alphabetically
    • By album release date
    • By composition date
    • By purchase date

I have been collecting original JW albums since 1993, and only within the last few years I have started ripping them all and upoading to my personal cloud (in wave 16 bits 44.1 Khz format to preserve the original sound quality).
New albums are being released and with less space left on my shelves I have been wondering what the best way to store those cd's (and LP's) would be.
So far I have gone for the alphabetical order. That doesn't seem to work any more: with the collection growing, a new cd will need me to move more and more previous albums to be put and kept in the right place.
So I am now undecided between album release date or movie release date (i.e.: when that music has been composed): the first one would give a better picture of how the market has evolved through the years, as well as the technology behind each release. The second one would give a better picture of how Jw career has evolved.
Another option, for the laziest, is to just add a new purchased cd after the previous one, which would reflect how the personal collections has evolved.

If anyone has any more options feel free to add :).

I used to sort by composer and then film release date, but it got too cumbersome - and difficult when considering compilations, scores with multiple composers, etc.  Now I sort my entire film score shelf alphabetically by film title, with duplicates (OST/expansion) filed by release date.

The only way of sorting a physical discography, is alphabetically by performer artist, then by release date. In the case of a film music composer like JW, it’s better to sort the album and expanded release by the movie release date, and to put in different sub groups, the collaboratives albums, then the compilations.