New Williams Concert Work to Premiere July 5 in Tanglewood

A new John Williams concert work commissioned for the 75th Anniversary of the Tanglewood Music Center (announced by Williams himself over a year ago) will be premiered at the Tanglewood Music Festival this summer. The piece, entitled “Just Down West Street…on the left” will be premiered by conductor Stefan Asbury on July 5, and reprised on August 4 at the Tanglewood on Parade concert.

L.A. Phil’s John Williams Tribute to be Released on DVD & Blu-ray / ‘Soundings’ Premiere Release (UPDATED)

AJWCelebration_BD_smallUPDATE: TV channel Arte has made the video available online for French and German viewers until August 24.

On June 30, Naxos’ subsidiary label C-Major will release on Blu-ray and DVD ‘A John Williams Celebration’, a 90-minute video featuring the 2014/15 Opening Gala Concert by the Los Angeles Philharmonic led by Gustavo Dudamel, with John Williams as guest conductor and Itzhak Perlman on violin.

Selections include the first official release of Soundings, composed for the Walt Disney Concert Hall in 2003, Olympic Fanfare and Theme, Schindler’s List, Fiddler on the Roof, Catch Me If You Can, Star Wars, Amistad and The Empire Strikes Back. More details at

Pre-order your copy from Blu-ray - DVD

La-La Land Records to Release ‘A.I. ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE’ 3CD Set

AI-Lalaland2small(Click to enlarge)

On June 16th, La-La Land Records will release an expanded and remastered 3-disc set of John Williams’ score for A.I. Artificial Intelligence (2001). Presented in collaboration with Williams and Steven Spielberg, this limited edition of 3000 units contains “over 2 hours of previously unreleased music”. The album has been produced, assembled and mastered by Mike Matessino.

Available for sale Tuesday June 16th, 12:00 PST at

John Williams on ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ (Vanity Fair Interview)

“There are some scenes where we do make reference to earlier thematic pieces. We haven’t done it yet, but we’re planning to do it. It’s something that I think will seem very natural and right in the moments for which we’ve chosen to do these kinds of quotes. There aren’t many of them, but there are a few that I think are important and will seem very much a part of the fabric of the piece in a positive and constructive way.” – Full interview at Vanity Fair.

Concert Reviews – ‘From Star Wars to Harry Potter: Off to the Movies with John Williams’


May 15, 2014 – York, PA
May 17, 2015 – West Chester, PA
The Pennsylvania Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Michael Butterman


  • Superman March from Superman: The Movie
  • Across the Stars from Attack of the Clones
  • Imperial March from The Empire Strikes Back
  • Cowboys Overture from The Cowboys
  • Great Westerns Suite (arr. Tvzik) – The Magnificent Seven, How the West Was Won, Silverado, Dances with Wolves
  • Harry’s Wondrous World from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
  • Flight to Neverland from Hook
  • Main Theme from Jaws
  • Prelude from Psycho
  • Viktor’s Tale from The Terminal
  • Adventures on Earth from E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial
  • Main Theme from Schindler’s List
  • Raiders March from Raiders of the Lost Ark

Williams Cancels Boston Appearances

Th BSO has announced that John Williams has cancelled his May 22 and 23 appearances with the Boston Pops due to a back ailment that requires him to rest and limit travel over the next few weeks. Richard Kaufman will conduct these performances.

Here’s the BSO’s full notice:

John Williams regretfully has had to cancel his upcoming appearances with the Boston Pops, May 22 and 23, due to a back ailment that requires him to rest and limit travel over the next few weeks. Please note, the program will remain the same.

Richard Kaufman will conduct these performances. Among his many accomplishments, Richard Kaufman is the Principal Pops Conductor of the Pacific Symphony, the Pops Conductor Laureate of the Dallas Symphony, and is celebrating his tenth season at the helm of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s film concert series “CSO at the Movies.” As a friend and colleague of John Williams, Mr. Kaufman has appeared as a violinist on many of Mr. Williams’s film sound tracks over the years.


New JW Compilation including ‘A Nostalgic Jazz Odyssey’ (World Premiere Release) and ‘Fanfare for Fenway’ – Free Audio Streaming

post-43-024606500 1416150950

The US Coast Guard Band have just released a new John Williams 2CD set featuring a selection of John Williams suites and themes which includes the first official release of the 15-minute concert piece A Nostalgic Jazz Odyssey (1971), never before available on album or CD, as well as the premiere release of a studio recording of Fanfare for Fenway (2012), previously released by the US Air Force Band as a live recording.

The compilation, entitled ‘John Williams for Winds – Music for Cinema and Beyond’ is now available for free streaming at the US Coast Guard Band website (download link coming soon).


Silva Screen Releases ‘Music from the Star Wars Saga’


Silva Screen has reissued Music from The Star Wars Saga, a compilation featuring music from the 6 films performed by the City of Prague Philharmonic. The album was previously released as part of Silva’s The Music of John Williams – The Definitive Collection, and is now sold separately for the first time.

Press Release - The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra
Music From The Star Wars Saga


Released to celebrate May 4th Star Wars Day and the mounting excitement for the December release of Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens.

This compilation brings together selections from all six Star Wars films featuring John William’s towering and epic scores performed by the renowned City Of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra. Highlights include The Imperial March, Forest Battle, Duel Of The Fates and The Throne Room/Finale, the latter the masterful ending to the original 1977 Star Wars and the Oscar winner for best score.