Preparing my thesis

Muad'Dib

Hey guys,

I'm currently on the first stages of preparing my thesis for my university -I'm a cinema director student- and I want to make it about the purpose of music on film. In fact that would be the title and my intent is to investigate about the history about film music since it's begginings and the influence of opera on it; but in particular I'm interested in studying particular scores that go out of the norm, in particular Williams and Altman collaboration, because in those two films they did together the relationship between image and music is so profound that I have to study and theorize about it. Also I'm interested in exposing the differences between traditional scoring (meaning, when the music is recorded after the film is edited) and the one popularized by Kubrick in which the music was thought beforehand and kept that way -related to temp-track of course but most temp-tracks are done when the editing is done also.

There's more of course, but with this in mind I was wondering if you guys could suggest me about books I could read related to the subject, good documentaries or even films that I might not know about that work the relationship between film and music in particular ways like Altman or Kubrick did. Leone will be touched upon also, as well as Corigliano, Malick and Tarkovsky, among others.

At this point any help or suggestions are more than welcome.

Thank you so much in advance for taking the time to read at least.

Off the top of my head:

Knowing the score: Notes on film music by Irwin Bazelon (contains an interview with Williams talking about IMAGES)

On the Track: A Guide to Contemporary Film Scoring by Fred Karlin and Rayburn Wright

The Art of Film Music by George Burt

Film Music: A Neglected Art by Roy M. Pendergast

The various Scarecrow film score guides (the one's on Korngold's THE ADVENTURES OF ROBIN HOOD and North's A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE are the best, by far)