Gollum's Song For Always...?

Yoda Longbottom

Which song is your favorite?  

31 members have voted

1. 1.

• Gollum's Song
    • For Always

This is my first attempt at polling. If it fails to work, it will be the last as well. If it fails to wake an attention, I won't do polls anymore. ;)

I think it interesting to run a poll dueling the two remarkable stand-out songs from two distinctive scores of the new millenium. I presume no one takes for granted John Williams' song to be a definite winner since it being inquired in JW's territory. I am, actually, positive of the opposite. No comments needed unless you feel like backing up your vote.

I went with "For Always".

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Haven't heard Gollum's song yet, but I guess it'll turn out I'll choose for the Williams... ;)

I just wanted to say, do you know 'Gollum' from the Lord of the Rings symphony by Dutch composer Johan de Meij? It's quite Williamsesque, especially the last minute (kinda like 'Dobby the House Elf'). Also resembles Prokofiev (e.g. Cinderella suite).

MSM

Its existence has been mentioned here several times before but I haven't heard the song you mention yet. Will look for it to get myself in the picture.

Nice to see you around, by the way. ;)

Roman.-)

I don't particularly like how either of them are carried out in terms of lyrics/singing, I hat the voice in Gollum's song and the lyrics are a bit much in For Always. So when I say that my favorite of the two is For Always, that decision has been based entirely on the music itself. Though I do love the beginning of Gollum's song with the humming voices, even before the strings coming in. That moment is amazing.

Ted

The Meij version of Gollum is awesome!!! Soprano sax solo the whole time!!!! (I am a sax player :) ) You should really look into it if you haven't heard it.

It's got a really catchy melody, and is very fitting to portray the creature Gollum.